(Former PAM Centre, and Loke Hall)
Ducking under the flyover behind Kelab DiRaja Selangor brings us to Jalan Tangsi where one of KL’s most charming old colonial era buildings still stands. It was built in 1907 as a townhouse for Loke Chow Kit and named Loke Hall, and believed to be designed by an Anglo-Indian architect, A.K. Musdeen. The building became the Empire Hotel in 1909 but in 1919 it changed to the Peninsula Hotel. In 1973 PAM (Pertubuhan Arkitek Malaysia or Malaysian Institute of Architects) was given the rights to be housed in the premises for the longest time, until it was recently taken back by DBKL.
Today it is named Rumah Tangsi, and our gang will transform the century-plus old mansion into KL’s happening hub for #culture & #heritage related events.
Watch this space as we’ll be sharing more information and offerings soon.